Beauty · Review

NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick || First Impression Friday

Hi loves,

I am starting a new mini series on here called First Impression Friday, inspired by the amazing Casey Holmes on YouTube. So what this is, is just me reviewing new products every week or every other week, giving you all the low down on how I feel about them, their price ranges, lasting power, formulation…stuff like that!

The kickoff for this series is going to be on NYX’s liquid suede lipstick, as I am sure you all know from reading the title! As a side note, I did receive this product through my Ipsy bag, that I pay for myself, and if you are interested in seeing what else I got in my monthly bag, click here and it will bring you to that post!

This product claims that it glides on and sets matte with a velvety soft and waterproof finish. The recommended way to apply this product is to start from the center and work your way outward- also, that it should be paired with NYX’s lip color remover, or any heavy-duty makeup remover, because the lasting power is ridiculous. There are 12 unique shades of lipsticks in this range- I own Pink Lust and Kitten Heels– and they retail for $6.99.

So, I have only tried out Pink Lust, because it seems most appropriate with the season-Kitten Heels looks likes a fall/winter lip color- and I have to say that it is amazing. The formula is incredible, nice and smooth with bright pigmentation. I usually am skeptical when it comes to liquid to matte lipsticks because my lips are usually on the dry side to start with, but the formula of this did not overly dry out my lips- I am going to try it out next time by applying a lip balm right before I put the lipstick on to see if there is a difference. When applying it, I wiped all the excess product off the applicator so it wouldn’t be too thick, and basically outlined my lips with it first, like a lip liner, and then filled the center in- I find that it is easier for me to apply all liquid lipsticks that way. While it was not streaky, it did take like 30 minutes for the color to go from the tacky state into a full matte finish, but the pigmentation did not fade. It didn’t smudge throughout the day, even with eating/drinking, and even at the end of the day I had a hard time scrubbing it off my lips, but it is not rub proof- I know, weird right? The only time color transferred was when I rubbed my lips with my finger.

I can see this product lasting a LONG time because you need so little of it to get the pigmentation, and the fact that they are only $7 makes them that much better. I think it is safe to say that I will be buying the rest of the range because I am obsessed with them!

I hope you found this post helpful if you were on the fence with buying this product! Feel free to leave requests in the comments!

XXOO- T

 

4 thoughts on “NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick || First Impression Friday

Leave a Reply

